About MSTI


The teacher who is attempting to teach without inspiring the pupil to learn is hammering on cold iron.
-Horace Mann

MSTI Project Definition

Funded by the CSU Chancellor’s Office, the Mathematics and Science Teachers Initiative (MSTI) Project is an innovative partnership of the Colleges of Education and Natural Sciences and Mathematics at California State University Fullerton to provide strong, collaborative, and comprehensive efforts to improve practices in the areas of mathematics and science teacher candidate recruitment, pre-service preparation, induction, beginning teacher professional development, and retention.

MSTI Project Goal

The MSTI Project goal is to develop highly-qualified secondary mathematics and science teachers whose training enables them to enter the classroom with the skills and knowledge to effectively serve students and enhance student achievement.

MSTI Project Objectives

We will:

  • Strengthen/expand current Science, Mathematics, and Foundational Level Math (FLM) programs;
  • Recruit/support Multiple Subject (MS), Single Subject (SS), and Education Specialist (ES) candidates and teachers who add authorizations in FLM or ISMA in Math or Science;
  • Recruit/support math and science majors into the teaching credential pathways;
  • Emphasize math and science teaching in our current high school Future Teachers Program;
  • Improve coordination of/articulation MAST Continuum of programs that recruit, train, and support mathematics and science teachers by identification/closure of gaps; and
  • Ensure Credential Program growth.

MSTI Project Collaboration

This university-wide initiative will involve faculty and staff from:

  • Seven departments and programs: Secondary Education, Elementary and Bilingual Education, Special Education, Mathematics, Catalyst Center, and Center for Careers in Teaching; and
  • Two major grants: the Noyce TAPP program and the Noyce MT2 program;
  • In collaboration with nine local school districts/county offices of education/community colleges, including Orange County Department of Education, Anaheim Union, Fullerton Joint, Fullerton City, Placentia-Yorba Linda, Corona Norco Unified, Santa Ana, Orange Unified, Capistrano Unified, Fullerton College, and Santa Ana College.
Share This Page:

Page updated: March 13, 2014